Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

Ebonyi Assembly confirms 7 commissioner nominees

Clement Nnachi, Abakaliki

The Ebonyi State House of Assembly, on Tuesday, confirmed seven Commissioner nominees forwarded to the House by Governor David Umahi as members of the State Executive Council.

This confirmation followed a letter presented by Governor Umahi and read by the House leader, Chief Victor Chukwu Uzoma, requesting for screening/confirmation of the nominees as Commissioners.

The seven commissioners were among the 16 nominees earlier forwarded to the lawmakers two weeks ago.

The confirmed commissioners were the first batch listed for screening while the remaining nine nominees were directed by the Clerk of the Assembly to appear for screening on July 31.

READ ALSO: Bandits kill 2 Air Force personnel in Kaduna

Moving a motion for the screening of the nominees, Chief Uzoma named the Commissioner nominees to include Barrister Samuel Okoronkwo, Barrister Uchena Orji, Engr Obasi Abara, Mrs Elizabeth Ogbaga, Chief Ogodo Ali Nomeh, Barr Ikechukwu Nwobo and Dr Sunday Nwangele.

The nominees were ushered into the chambers by the Sergeant-at-Arms and subjected to series of questions by the lawmakers.

When the Speaker, Chief Francis Nwifuru, put the motion to vote stating “that the nominees, having passed the screening, be confirmed as Commissioners of Ebonyi State’, it was unanimously adopted.

The Speaker then directed the Clerk of the Assembly to convey the approval of the Assembly confirming seven nominees as Commissioners to Governor Umahi.

It would be recalled that Governor Umahi had on 29th May 2019 dissolved the State Executive Council to mark the end of the first tenure of his administration.