Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

2 parties bow out of Kwara Assembly by-election

Wole Adedeji, Ilori

Two of the eight political parties that signified intentions to take part in the March 14, 2020, House of Assembly by-election into Pategi constituency might have bowed out.

They had earlier, in compliance with the timetable of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), obtained Form EC9 and EC9E and went ahead to conduct their primary elections.

INEC Resident Electoral Commissioner (REC), in Kwara State, Malam Garba Attahiru-Madami, who made this known, in Ilorin, said INEC headquarters, however, communicated list of the six political parties to Kwara State through a letter signed by the Commission’s Secretary, Mrs. Rose Anthony.

He disclosed that the letter, dated Feb 20, 2020 was titled, “Forwarding of forms EC9 and final list of candidates for Patigi State Constituency By-election scheduled for 14th day of March, 2020.”

READ ALSO: http://FRSC will not condone 2 passengers in front seat – Spokesperson

The Kwara REC added that by the letter from INEC headquarters, only six political parties would now partake in the by-election.

According to him, the six political parties and their candidates were Shehu D. Usman (AAC), Zubairu Shaba Musa (ADC) and Ahmed Rufai Adam (APC).

Others were Mohammed Aishetu (APM), Oladipo Benjamin (NNPP) and Mohammed Salihu Yahaya (PDP).

Attahiru-Madami also disclosed that INEC  published the list of the candidates in accordance with section 31 (3) of the Electoral Act 2010 as amended.

The eight political parties were the Action Alliance (AA), African Democratic Congress (ADC), African Action Congress (AAC), All Progressive Congress (APC), Allied Peoples Movement (APM), Action Peoples Party (APP), New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP) and Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

The Constituency seat in the House of Assembly became vacant with  the death of the incumbent, Hon. Ahmed Rufai on Tuesday December 3, 2019.

 Clerk of the Assembly had notified INEC about the death of the member via a letter on Jan. 27, 2020 in line with section 116 (2) of the 1999 Constitution.