Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

Sen Seriake Dickson, Frank Ibezim  lands vice chairmanship slots as Senate reconstitutes committees

Anthony Iwuoma

The distinguished senators Seriake Dickson and  Frank Ibezim, representing Bayelsa West and  Imo North in the National Assembly, respectively are among the lawmakers appointed chairmen and vice-chairmen of Senate committees on Wednesday.

The Senate President Ahmad Lawan had reconstituted some Standing and Special Committees of the Red Chamber, appointing  13 senators variously as chairmen, vice-chairmen or committee members.

While Lawan, who announced the new development at the plenary,  appointed Sen. Seriake Dickson (PDP-Bayelsa) vice chairman, Senate Committee on Interior and member, Senate Committee on Appropriations, he announced the appointment of Senator Ibezim (APC-Imo), as Vice-Chairman, Committee on Industries.

According to the Senate President,  Sen. Sahabi Ya’u (APC-Zamfara) would chair the Committee on National Population and National Identity, with Sen Tokunbo Abiru (APC-Lagos) as Chairman Senate Committee on Industries.

The changes also affected Sen. Saidu Alkali (PDP- Gombe), who is now the Chairman, Senate Committee on Trade and Investments, and Sen. Kabiru Barkiya (APC-Katsina) as Chairman, Senate Committee on Interparliamentary Affairs.

Sen. Abiodun Olujimi (PDP-Ekiti) was appointed member, Senate Committee on Appropriations, Sen Tolu Odebiyi (APC-Ogun) as Vice Chairman, Committee on Marine Transport, and Sen. Lekan Mustapha (APC-Ogun) also as Vice Chairman, Committee on INEC.”

Senator Frank Ibezim

Others are Sen. Nora Dadut (APC-Plateau), who is now Vice-Chairperson, Committee on Culture and Tourism, while Sen. Degi Biobarakuma (APC-Bayelsa) was named member of, Senate Committee on Appropriations.

The rest were: Sen. Jarigbe Jarigbe (PDP-Cross River) as Vice Chairman, Senate Committee on Foreign Affairs;

Sen. Moses Cleopas (PDP-Bayelsa) as Vice Chairman, Committee on National Planning and Economic Affairs.

Lawan stated: “We expect that these chairmen and vice-chairmen will start their work immediately, especially on the budget defence. We wish them the best of tenure and steady hands on their work.”