Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

PSC approves promotion of 6,618 senior police officers

Joy Anyim 

The Police Service Commission (PSC) has approved the promotion of 6,618 senior police officers.
The promotions were approved at the eighth  plenary meeting of the Commission which spanned a period of three weeks, and ended on Wednesday, July 1st, 2020.
The meeting was presided over by Commission’s Chairman, Musiliu Smith, a retired Inspector General of Police. 
A statement on Friday, by the commission’s  Head, Press and Public Relations, Ikechukwu Ani, stated that one Assistant-Inspector General of Police, Olushola Oyebade currently at the National Institute of Policy and Strategic Studies (NIPSS), Jos, Plateau State was promoted to the next rank of Deputy-Inspector General of Police to represent the South West geopolitical zone.
The statement read: “ Four Commissioners of Police(CP), including one specialist, was promoted to the rank of Assistant Inspector General of Police. They are CP Aisha L. Abubakar, CP  Veterinary Department; Cp. Asuquo A. A. Amba, former CP, Bayelsa State Command; Counter Terrorism and currently CP. Ekiti state Command;  CP. Nekereuwem A. Akpan, former CP. Cross Rivers State Command and Olafihan Adeniran Adeeoye, currently CP. Anti Terrorism.
“ The Commission also approved the promotion of three Deputy Commissioners of Police (DCP) to the next rank of substantive Commissioners of Police. They are DCP Jonathan Towuru, Deputy Force Secretary; DCP Abiodun Alabi, National Defence College and DCP. Akande  Kayode of the State House (Presidential Villa). Three Assistant Commissioners of Police (ACP), ACP. Adenola J. Oluwole, ACP. Valentine Olumese and ACP. Isa Jibril Grema were promoted to the next rank of Deputy Commissioners of Police.
“ Eight Superintendents of Police(SP), including Omoruyi Godwin,  Clifford Okwor presently of Anambra State Command and Uchendu Fransica Ngozi, Staff Officer Senior, SOS, also of Anambra State Command were also promoted to the rank of Chief Superintendent of Police (CSP). Six hundred and seven Deputy Superintendents of Police (DSP), were also elevated to the rank of Superintendents of Police (SP). 
“ They include; DSP. Markus Goyom, Ifeoma Chukwu Ozuruigbo, Elizabeth Olajimoke Olatunbosun, Mina Mosese Anderson, Delta State Command and Mohammed Yakubu Ibrahim, Divisional Police Officer (DPO) 9th Mile, Enugu State Command. Others are Frank Omokhoje Longe, Delta State Command, Chukwudi Nwanze Simon, Ukadike Oyekachukwu Martins, Jemimah Okafor; Emeka Iheanacho, PPRO Zone 5 and Ede John Chukwuemeka.”
The Commission also promoted 206 Assistant Superintendents of Police (ASP) to Deputy Superintendents among which were; Ignatius Ogoejbunam Atta, Mustapha Ali and Awe Vincent

“Also promoted were 5,786 Inspectors to Assistant Superintendents of Police (ASP11). Some of the new ASPs are Egbo Rosemary Obianujunwa, Operations, Delta State Command; Abdulahi Mohammed; Elvina Chukwu, Oyo State Command; Balogun Olushegun; Amaka Onwude, CPS, Abakaliki, Ebonyi State Command; Samuel Agu, Delta Command; Joseph Seyinko and Chinyere Mabeokwu of Enugu Area Command, ” the statement said. 
Chairman of the Commission congratulated the promoted Officers and demanded that they reciprocate the Commission’s gesture by rededicating themselves to the service of their fatherland. 
Smith also said that the Commission will continue to ensure that merit and seniority guide the promotion of officers of the Nigeria Police.