Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

Canada includes Nigeria in latest travel ban imposed on African nations

Canada has included Nigeria to the ‘travel ban’ list due to the growing concerns over the Omicron variant of COVID-19. Other countries included were Egypt and Malawi.

Canadian Health Minister Jean-Yves Duclos was quoted by Sputnik news agency, as saying, “We are adding three countries to the list of these countries that we talked about last Friday, these are Malawi, Egypt and Nigeria,”

Duclos added that all travellers coming from outside Canada, apart from the United States, would now be tested at Canadian airports for the novel coronavirus disease, regardless of vaccination status.

READ ALSO: http://COVID-19: Omicron variant lands in Nigeria, 2 cases discovered

This came after the World Health Organisation, on Tuesday, called for countries to keep calm and take “rational” measures in response to the new COVID variant, Omicron.

“We call on all member states to take rational, proportional risk-reduction measures,” WHO chief Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus said in a briefing to countries, Al Jazeera reports.

Omicron was already in the Netherlands when South Africa alerted the WHO about it last week.