Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

APC sweeps Ekiti Guber Election, as PDP, SDP checkmate selves

Anthony Iwuoma

The ruling All Progressives Congress, APC, has won the governorship election in Ekiti State.

The chief returning officer of the election, Kayode Adebowale, in the wee hours of Sunday announced the APC, standard bearer, Mr. Oyebanji the winner, in Ado-Ekiti, the capital city, having polled 187,057 votes, the highest number of votes, the higgest in the race.

Candidates of the opposition Social Democratic Party, SDP, Segun Oni, and the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, Bisi Kolawole, came a distant second and third respectively.

Oni m polled 82,211, while Bisi Kolawole scored 67, 457 votes.

Of the 16 local government areas in the state, Mr Oyebanji, the anointed choicebof outgoing Governor Kayode Fayemi, won 15 – Irepodun/Ifelodun, Ilejemeje, Moba, Ado-Ekiti, Ijero, Ekiti Southwest, Ido-Osi, Ise-Orun, Gbonyin, Oye, Ekiti West, Ikere, Emure, Ikole.

Mr Kolawole won in Efon local government area.

Registered voters – 989,224

Accredited voters – 365,438

Valid votes – 351,865

Rejected votes – 8888

Total votes cast – 360753

Number of votes according to political parties
A – 166

AAC – 409

ADC – 5,997

ADP- 3,495

APC- 187,057

APGA- 376

All – 290

LP – 195

PRP- 1,980

NNPN – 529

PDP – 67457

SDP – 82,211

YPP – 618