Deprecated: Unparenthesized `a ? b : c ? d : e` is deprecated. Use either `(a ? b : c) ? d : e` or `a ? b : (c ? d : e)` in /home/thexpr5/public_html/wp-content/plugins/js_composer.bk/include/classes/editors/class-vc-frontend-editor.php on line 673
Ag. IGP Adamu orders 6, 000 police out of Lagos – The Nigerian Xpress
Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

Ag. IGP Adamu orders 6, 000 police out of Lagos

Acting Inspector-General of Police (IGP), Mohammed Adamu, has ordered the immediate transfer of over 6,000 senior police officers and rank and file out of Lagos State.

According to sources , this was part of Ag. IGP Adamu’s plan to reinvigorate the Force in Lagos State amid escalating crime rate.

It was also believed that most of the affected policemen have made the state their comfort zone and running their personnel businesses instead of policing.

In the first phase of the transfer, 1,001 senior police officers had been transferred out of the state.

The ranks of those affected ranged from Assistant Superintendent of Police (ACPs), Deputy Superintendent of Police (DSPs), Superintendent of Police (SPs) and Chief Superintendent of Police (CSPs).

READ ALSO: Cameroun gendarmes attack A’ Ibom community, scores killed

In a signal dated May 2, 2019, the police boss instructed that the 1,001 officers should be released to head to their new commands immediately.

Zamfara State, which had been caught in mindless bloodletting, will be receiving over 50 policemen from Lagos State in the exercise.

At least 22 officers, among 1,001, will report to Abia State. Others were Adamawa State 43; Akwa Ibom, 11; Anambra State, nine; Bauchi State 31; Benue State, 32; Borno State, 24; Balyesa State, 14; Cross River State, 20; Delta State 10; Ebonyi State, 43; Ekiti State, 42; Enugu State, 29; and the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) five.

Also included are Gombe State, 24; Imo State, 30; Jigawa State, 34; Kebbi State, 47; Kaduna State, 35; Kogi State, 23; Kano State, 32; Katsina State, 41; Kwara State, 20; Nasarawa State, 22; Niger State, 14; Ondo State, 14; Osun State, 26; Oyo State, 41; Plateau State, 32; Rivers State, 37; Sokoto State, 29; Taraba State, 40; Yobe State, 35; and Zamfara State, 53.

Officers from other state commands are already in Lagos and already taking over the offices vacated by the outgoing officers.

After this phase of transfer, the IGP is also expected to transfer over 5,000 ranks and file out of Lagos.