Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

19 ex-Heads of Lagos School of Nursing bags Excellence Award

Ayodele Olalere

Nineteen former heads of the Lagos State School of Nursing were, on Thursday, honoured with the Excellence Award for being a role model to the institution.

According to the Chairman of the Publication & Advocacy Committee/ Alumni of the institution, Dr. Esther Oshunluyi, during the 1st Reunion and Award Ceremony by the Lagos State Schools of Nursing Global Alumni Association (LASSONGAA) held at the Adeyemi Bero Auditorium Alausa Secretariat, Ikeja,  Nigeria nurses deserve special recognition with well salary packages because they are caregivers and life savers.

READ ALSO: http://Defilement: Oyo teacher allegedly defiles 14-yr-old student, remanded in prison

She expressed sadness at the manner Nigerian nurses are poorly treated and disrespected as against their counterparts abroad.

She appealed to the Nigeria government to enact good laws that promote the rights of the nurses so as to make them feel safe, increase their salaries and other welfare packages.

The Deputy Director, Lagos Ministry of Health, and the Chairman, Local Organising Committee of the 2022 Award Ceremony, Mrs. Sola Aketi said it is a good thing for the present and past staff of the institution to work together in the profession as a team without discrimination, adding all past leaders deserve to be celebrated.

She commended the Lagos State government for taking care of the nurses especially during the time of the COVID-19 pandemic.

She further said the School of Nursing has produced many intellectuals who have  graduated since it was established in 1948.

READ ALSO: http://Polaris Bank has not been sold, says Management

The Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Health, Dr. Olusegun Ogboye, said that Lagos State has been working tirelessly to reduce brain drain by making the health workers more comfortable as well as training and retraining of nurses.

Among those in attendance were the First Lady of Lagos State, Dr. Ibijoke Sanwo-Olu, represented by Mrs. Adenike Ayantayo, Commissioner for Health, Prof. Akin Abayomi who was represented by Mrs. Dorcas Shonibare, and Oba of Ikorodu HRM Oba Shotunbi Abdulkabir.